NASPAA’s Global Simulation Competition resulted in eight finalists and an overall Winning Engagement Group. The semi-finalists were the teams that had the highest combined score at the end of the day’s competition. The combined score is a weighted combination of:

  • The calculated World Energy Scorecard associated with the team’s best run for Task 2 (35%)
  • The average score from judges as assigned at the end of the day based on all Tasks (45%)
  • The average score from the peer review of presentations at the end of the day (20%)

The global winner and runner up were selected by a panel of super judges who reviewed three items from each semi-finalist team:

  • Presentation of Plan’s Implementation Opportunities and Stakeholder-Based Support
  • Confidential Analysis of Plan’s Implementation Barriers and Stakeholder-Based Resistance
  • Action Plan for Moving forward with G-20’s Proposed Policies on Global Climate Change

2016 Global Winning Team

The global winning team competed at the regional site held at United Nations University – MERIT/ Maastricht Graduate School of Governance in the Netherlands.This team created a solution that by the year 2100 limited global warming to 1.9 degrees Celsius from above pre-industrial levels. The winning team’s approach did not rely on a single “silver bullet” approach to solving the problem of global warming, but instead deployed a “silver buckshot” approach. Watch their winning presentation, and read more details of their proposal. Read the full winning team press release.

2016 Runner-Up Team

The semi-finalist team from Georgia State University was selected as the runner-up. See below for details on all semi-finalist teams.

Arizona | California Georgia Indiana Maryland Maastricht New York Virginia


Watch the final presentation. Team members include:

  • Wayne Beckermann, Texas A&M University
  • Isaac Bernal, Arizona State University
  • Nicholas Estrada, Brigham Young University
  • Courtney Hayden, Northern Arizona University
  • Harrison Holcomb, University of Colorado Denver
  • Fred Jackson, University of Nevada Las Vegas
  • Jordan Macha, Texas State University
  • Sergio Marquez, New Mexico State University
  • James Neville, Brigham Young University
  • Mourin Nizam, The University of Texas at Austin
  • Kaden Peek, Brigham Young University
  • Yalda Samih, University of Arizona
  • Jason Shumberger, Arizona State University
  • Amelie Simons, Northern Arizona University
  • Julia Von Alexander, The University of Texas at Austin
  • John Wagner, University of Nevada Las Vegas
  • Magenta Widner, University of North Dakota


Watch the final presentation. Team members include:

  • Joshua Banks, University of Southern California
  • Freddy Cupen-Ames, University of Southern California
  • Carlos Donoso, California State University Los Angeles
  • Kate Hammarback, University of Oregon
  • Phoebe Hwang, University of Washington
  • Sam Irvine, Presidio Graduate School
  • Melissa Joy, Naval Postgraduate School
  • Ennada Lagouit, Oregon State University
  • Wyatt Lundy, University of Southern California
  • Natalie Medvedev, Pepperdine University
  • Kellie Quinn, San Diego State University
  • Saule Seitmaganbetova, University of Southern California
  • John Tamura, California State University Dominguez Hills
  • Frankie Tong, University of Washington


Watch the final presentation. Team members include:

  • Usayd Casewit, Georgia Tech
  • Afroze Charania, Georgia State University
  • Jared Cory, Florida State University
  • Christabel Ghansah, Georgia State University
  • Natavis Harris, Savannah State University
  • Qian Huang, University of Miami
  • Samuel Johnson, University of Georgia
  • Kimberly Kruse, Arizona State University
  • Crystal Lean, Florida International University
  • Aaron Lichkay, Georgia State University
  • Kelsey Martin, Kennesaw State University
  • Dorian Mergler, University of South Florida
  • Kelly Parrty, Georgia State University
  • Karen Scott, University of Alabama at Birmingham
  • Kristen Smith, Louisiana State University
  • Alan Tipert, Georgia State University
  • Lorin Washington, The University of Texas at Arlington
  • Evan Williams, University of Tennessee – Knoxville


Watch the final presentation. Team members include:

  • Maria Azurdia, Northern Illinios University
  • Ricardo Bello Gomez, Indiana University Bloomington
  • Paula Brehm Heeger , Northern Kentucky University
  • Jody-Ann Coore, University of Nebraska at Omaha
  • Jessica Davis, IUPUI
  • Moses Kamanzi, Wright State University
  • Brandon Koch, Western Michigan University
  • Kathryn Norman, Central Michigan University
  • Chris Purvis, IUPUI
  • Alexandra Sargent, Ohio University
  • Rio Schondelmeyer, Indiana University Bloomington
  • Nathaniel Smith, University of Kentucky
  • Burak Tan, Western Michigan University
  • Zhipeng Zhang, Indiana University Bloomington


Watch the final presentation. Team members include:

  • Sarah Anderson, Bowie State University
  • Ruthana Beezley, West VIrginia University
  • Daniel Brookmyer, George Mason University
  • Douglas Cheeseman, George Mason University
  • Yihan Cheng, The George Washington University
  • Joy Drager, West Chester University
  • Elizabeth Fort, West Virginia University
  • Kevin Fulton, Duke University
  • Charles Hackman, Georgetown University
  • Janine Jelks-Seale, Carnegie Mellon University
  • Shannon Kennedy, University of Maryland
  • Leah Schleifer, University of Maryland
  • Danang Syeh Qodir, The Pennsylvania State University Harrisburg
  • Eli Turkel, University of Delaware


Watch the final presentation. Team members include:

  • Mohammad Alrefai, Doha Institute for Graduate Studies
  • Shreya Bhattacharya, Central European University
  • Marion Charpentier, Maastricht University
  • Deepal Doshi, University of Bonn
  • Lize Duminy, University of Bergen
  • Mahmoud El-Refai, American University in Cairo
  • Manuel Friedlein, Maastricht University
  • Teodora Monica Fulga, Bucharest University of Economic Studies
  • Nick Germanacos, Maastricht University
  • Hugo Herrera, University of Palermo
  • Audrey Hobbelen, Maastricht University
  • Brendan Johannsen, Sciences Po
  • Paul Langer, University of Speyer
  • Jill LaPlante, Maastricht University
  • Sarah Neehus, Maastricht University
  • Hanh Nguyen, Central European University
  • Ennio Valentino Picucci, Maastricht University
  • Zhan Yi Debby Roxanne Wong, Sciences Po

New York 

Watch the final presentation. Team members include:

  • Alexander Bryden, The New School
  • Lia Cairone, Columbia University
  • Peter Cichetti, University at Albany
  • Pamela Davis, Syracuse University
  • Elke-Esmeralda Dikoume, Cornell University
  • Maria Flores, Pace University
  • Katy Gall, University of Massachusetts Boston
  • Matthew Giancola, Suffolk University
  • Krzysztof Haranczyk, Baruch College
  • Bonnie Krenz, Princeton University
  • Nandini Mehrotra, Cornell University
  • Ana Monzon, Syracuse University
  • Wendy Nicholson, John Jay College
  • Roger Perez, Brandeis University
  • Eli Polzer, State University of New York – College at Brockport
  • Hongchi Zhang, University of Massachusetts Boston


Watch the final presentation. Team members include:

  • MacDonald Bowden, Appalachian State University
  • Timothy Brown, Duke University
  • Ashlee Dyer, North Carolina Central University
  • Whitney Farmer, University of Virginia
  • Isaac Irby, College of William and Mary
  • Jonathan Lantz, Regent University
  • Shelagh Mollohan, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
  • Eric Reed, North Carolina Central University
  • Scott Showalter, Virginia Tech
  • Johanna Smith, Regent University
  • Denver Supinger, Virginia Commonwealth University
  • Elizabeth Yost, University of Virginia